• Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Tags
    Tags Displays a list of tags that have been used in the blog.
  • Bloggers
    Bloggers Search for your favorite blogger from this site.
  • Login
    Login Login form
Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in Number Seven Symbolism

Posted by on in SageWoman Blogs
Taking Hold of the Reins 2014!

Happy New Year! We leave behind 2013 and embark on new journeys in 2014At the start of each new year I spend some reflective time to remind myself of the goals I have accomplished and how they can be best used as the foundations for the year's work ahead. I use multiple disciplines- Numerology, Astrology and Tarot- as part of this annual meditation and make note of the recurring themes of each as areas I should be especially mindful of.

This year resonates to the number 7 (add the 2+0+1+4=7) and the potential for new paths, gaining mastery over what was begun in 2013 and deeper connection to understanding our own spiritual nature. The number seven is the proving ground of what lessons we think we have successfully traversed. It holds the tension between the harmonious balance of the number 6, the double Trinity and the eternity and expansion and contraction of the number 8, the Lemniscate. That middle ground of 7 is the place for exploration of what feeds our knowledge base so that we may arrive more fully informed at the eternal Gateway of time and space (8).

Astrologically, we kick off the New Year with a New Moon in Capricorn, the Sea Goat, lending additional support and energy to the process of new beginnings.  Capricorn offers the strength and stability of the Earth element and as an astrological sign of the Cardinal Modality creates the seeds of inception that become the blooming fields in their peak and fullness. The lesson of the Sea-Goat is held within its ability to navigate the depths of emotion (the sea) and with sure footed grace scale the heights (reaching towards mind). The overall intent is one of having the ability to manifest our goals, dreams and desires into usable tools of growth from a structured and secure foundation of anchor.

Last modified on

This month we’ll take a look at pagan elements in children’s fiction, beginning with the popular classic The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper. Part of what makes this book a treasure is the magical aspects that exist right alongside the contemporary world. Cooper uses pagan symbols, like the number seven, magical names, and a one-horned man to weave her tale. Let’s look closer at the origins of these ideas.

 The Dark is Rising is the third part of a fantasy series published in 1973, and was made into a motion picture in 2007 (The Seeker). Will Stanton is the seventh son of a seventh son, who comes into his magical abilities on his eleventh birthday. He learns he is the last of the Old Ones, and quests to reclaim six items that will ultimately help him fight the Dark. Overall it is a charming story that takes place in winter and through the Solstice holiday. 

Last modified on

Additional information