Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/artsdesi/public_html/plugins/system/nicepaypaldownloadsbtn/nicepaypaldownloadsbtn.php on line 53

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/artsdesi/public_html/plugins/system/nicepaypaldonations/nicepaypaldonations.php on line 63

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/artsdesi/public_html/plugins/system/isekeywords/isekeywords.php on line 77

Strict Standards: Only variables should be assigned by reference in /home/artsdesi/public_html/plugins/system/isekeywords/isekeywords.php on line 78
Reviews - PaganSquare - Join the conversation! http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews.html Fri, 30 Jan 2015 12:54:18 -0800 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb Rocking the Goddess: Campus Wicca for the Student Practitioner http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/373-rocking-the-goddess-campus-wicca-for-the-student-practitioner-nw02.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/373-rocking-the-goddess-campus-wicca-for-the-student-practitioner-nw02.html

Rocking the Goddess:
Campus Wicca for the Student Practitioner
by Anthony Paige
Citadel Press

 

This one really surprised me by being such an excellent read: it’s almost Drawing Down the Moon for the college student. The author has interviewed college students practicing Wicca, professors of religious studies, and even the spooked parent of a Wiccan college student. But he doesn’t present this in a dry, please-recite-to-me-your-thoughts-on-Wicca style, instead, he’s simply relating anecdotes, conversation, and stories about real people, not Big Name Pagans.

]]>
dragon1@bbimedia.com (Cecylyna Dewr) Reviews Thu, 26 Jul 2012 15:43:19 -0700
Wiccan Wisdom Keepers http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/372-wiccan-wisdom-keepers-nw02.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/372-wiccan-wisdom-keepers-nw02.html

Wiccan Wisdom Keepers
by Sally Griffin
Red Wheel/Weiser

 

Wiccan Wisdom Keepers by Sally Griffin is a beautiful book packed with glossy pages and full-color pictures, worthwhile for that alone. However, as the saying goes, you can’t judge a book by its cover — or in this case, photographs. The true value of Griffin’s book lies in the text itself.

]]>
dragon1@bbimedia.com (Jennifer Ricard) Reviews Wed, 25 Jul 2012 19:12:26 -0700
Wiccan Feng Shui: How to Arrange a Magickal Life http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/371-wiccan-feng-shui-how-to-arrange-a-magickal-life-nw02.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/371-wiccan-feng-shui-how-to-arrange-a-magickal-life-nw02.html

Wiccan Feng Shui:  
How to Arrange a Magickal Life  
by Alexandria
Citadel Press

 

In Wiccan Feng Shui, How to Arrange a Magical Life, Alexandria has written a useful, highly readable book. She has interwoven Wiccan practices and tools with the traditional Feng Shui system in an interesting manner, creating a helpful combination of the two disciplines specifically designed for practitioners of Wicca.

]]>
dragon1@bbimedia.com (Tasha Halpert) Reviews Tue, 24 Jul 2012 16:24:20 -0700
Dark Moon Mysteries: Wisdom, Power and Magic of the Shadow World http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/336-dark-moon-mysteries-nw01.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/336-dark-moon-mysteries-nw01.html

Dark Moon Mysteries:
Wisdom, Power and Magic of the Shadow World
by Timothy Roderick
Llewellyn

 

I have always worked closely with the Crone. In fact, my spirit name is a direct reflection of this. So it’s not surprising that one day, when I was browsing at a local bookstore, the title of this book leapt out. I pulled the book from the shelf and sat down, thumbing through the pages. Within minutes I knew I had to add it to my library.

]]>
dragon1@bbimedia.com (Trinity) Reviews Wed, 11 Jul 2012 18:45:58 -0700
Exploring Wicca: The Beliefs, Rites, and Rituals of the Wiccan Religion http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/333-exploring-wicca-the-beliefs-rites-and-rituals-of-the-wiccan-religion-nw01.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/333-exploring-wicca-the-beliefs-rites-and-rituals-of-the-wiccan-religion-nw01.html

Exploring Wicca:  
The Beliefs, Rites, and Rituals of the Wiccan Religion  
by Lady Sabrina
New Page Books

 

When I was thirteen, living through an eternal hormone-induced place of damnation, I found my mother’s copy of The Spiral Dance. She had it because she was a feminist; I read it because the idea of being a “witch” sounded cool. I became a witch because Starhawk showed me a place I remembered, a way of being that felt right.

]]>
dragon1@bbimedia.com (Lisa McSher) Reviews Wed, 11 Jul 2012 17:27:14 -0700
A Witch Like Me http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/327-a-witch-like-me-nw01.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/327-a-witch-like-me-nw01.html

A Witch Like Me
by Sirona Knight
New Page Books

 

This latest offering by Sirona Knight (creator of The Shapeshifter Tarot) is a compilation of responses to a questionnaire given to 14 of today’s “leading Wiccan authors.” The subjects include the likes of Knight herself (she’s humble, at least), Raymond Buckland, Z. Budapest and Silver Ravenwolf. The questionnaires ask the subjects to describe their paths, how they came to be where they are, childhood experiences, and so forth.

]]>
dragon1@bbimedia.com (Josh Shanks) Reviews Tue, 10 Jul 2012 14:34:46 -0700
Philosophy of Wicca http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/326-philosophy-of-wicca-nw01.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/326-philosophy-of-wicca-nw01.html

Philosophy of Wicca
by Amber Laine Fisher
ECW Press

 

Ninety percent of all books on Wicca are crap, and I say this as a member of the clergy in the faith. They somehow paint Wicca as some sort of Charmed-wannabe thing where everyone looks like anime characters, and rarely, if ever, include good information on the religion itself.

]]>
dragon1@bbimedia.com (Dagonet Dewr) Reviews Tue, 10 Jul 2012 14:27:52 -0700
The Well-Read Witch http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/325-the-well-read-witch-nw01.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/325-the-well-read-witch-nw01.html

The Well-Read Witch
by Carl McColman
New Page Books

 

Carl McColman, author of The Aspiring Mystic and Embracing Jesus and the Goddess, brings us a comprehensive look at what most of would want our magickal library to look like.

]]>
dragon1@bbimedia.com (Josh Shanks) Reviews Tue, 10 Jul 2012 14:12:16 -0700
Witchcraft: A Concise Guide http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/315-witchcraft-a-concise-guide-nw01.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/315-witchcraft-a-concise-guide-nw01.html

Witchcraft:  
A Concise Guide  
by Issac Bonewits
Virtual Publishing Group, Inc.

 

I’ve never read anything of Issac’s that wasn’t entertaining, intelligent, and informative, and this book is no exception. Once again, Bonewits has written a classic that should be required reading for anyone seeking a one-book introduction to Wicca.

]]>
dragon1@bbimedia.com (Dagonet Dewr) Reviews Sun, 08 Jul 2012 16:35:51 -0700
A Witch’s Book of Dreams http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/314-a-witch-s-book-of-dreams-nw01.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/314-a-witch-s-book-of-dreams-nw01.html

A Witch’s Book of Dreams
by Karri Allrich
Llewellyn

 

Have you ever tried to use one of the standard dream dictionaries? If you’re like me, you probably didn’t get very far. Enter A Witch’s Book of Dreams. This is a book written for a Pagan audience. Cool!

]]>
dragon1@bbimedia.com (Selene Silverwind) Reviews Sun, 08 Jul 2012 16:33:00 -0700
The Study of Witchcraft http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/268-the-study-of-witchcraft-nw17.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/268-the-study-of-witchcraft-nw17.html

The Study of Witchcraft
by Deborah Lipp
Weiser Books, 2007

 

Noted Wiccan priestess and author of Elements of Ritual and The Way of Four Spellbook, Deborah Lipp brings solid credentials to her latest project, The Study of Witchcraft. Years of being a practicing Wiccan, of study and research as well as participation in Pagan culture, make Lipp a knowledgeable and trustworthy guide into the compelling, but at times The Study of Witchcraft is a concise, accessible, and enjoyable introduction into the core beliefs, practices, and history of Wicca and witchcraft.

]]>
dragon1@bbimedia.com (Leni Hester) Reviews Thu, 28 Jun 2012 20:59:38 -0700
Witch in the Neighborhood http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/28-witch-in-the-neighborhood-wp24.html http://www.witchesandpagans.com/wiccan-traditions/reviews/28-witch-in-the-neighborhood-wp24.html

Witch in the Neighborhood
Lady Isis Rose, Alexandrian Archives , 2008

3/5 Broomsticks 

The first look at Witch in the Neighborhood by Lady Isis Rose promises a fun read. Illustrated by Sabrina, the Ink Witch, these ninety pages offer a primer for beginning witches and a gentle reminder for those more accomplished, that witchcraft isn’t something you do, it’s the way you live.

Sections include, “Merry Meet,“ “Making A Beginning or Creating A New World One Neighborhood at a Time,” “What’s in Your Wicca Basket?,” “A Cauldron of Festivities,” and “Merry Part Until We Merry Meet Again.”

]]>
alan1@bbimedia.com (Lady Willow) Reviews Thu, 08 Mar 2012 15:25:33 -0800